Legal Lesson - Fla. Stats. 90.501-90.510 Privilege

Posted on Mon, May 09, 2011

ABSTRACT: In general, no party in a legal proceeding can refuse to be a witness; refuse to disclose any matter; refuse to produce any object or writing; or prevent another from doing the same unless there is a legally recognized privilege.  The privileges recognized by the Florida evidence code are: Lawyer/Client privilege; Psychotherapist/Patient privilege; Sexual Assault Counselor/Victim privilege; Domestic Violence Advocate/Victim privilege; Husband/Wife privilege (which is not applicable in a dissolution proceeding); Clergy/Parishioner privilege; and Accountant/Client privilege.  Each section is specific as to what does and does not constitute privileged information and whom may claim the privilege.
Read More

Tell Us About Your Case

  • FREE eBook

    "15 Tips for Navigating a Divorce"


  • Receive Blog Notifications

    Recent Posts